After emigration

So, I have been here for about 15 weeks now. Things are so much better, easier, and less stressful. I have taken up surfing and paddle boarding as something to do when I come home from school and I love both. Living opposite the sea and a creek can’t be too bad can it? Gold Coast is a vastly developing city that is attracting many thousands more visitors every year. They plan to build a cruise terminal at the north end to bring more in.

I don’t miss a thing.

Except my friends and family, there was nothing for me in England. I remember the cold day my Dad told me of his glorious plan to succeed into a one way ticket somewhere; flee onto a flight and sit in comfort watching the place we thought was the only world disappear through the clouds. Some other considerations were Canada, NZ, America. I also remember the celebratory day that we had when he booked that one way flight going to Brisbane as we felt delight to never look back, grabbing a menu at our usual restaurant and tapping each others cups to a loud clang through the room. We took up all of the visas, we accomplished their tests, police checks, medicals. Passing them all, we reluctantly never really did look back- purely because there was no way we couldn’t. So we kept going. And here I am now sitting outside in the thirty degree heat with a cold ice tea listening to the top 40 and indie tracklists. Things couldn’t have got better and school..don’t even get me started..paddleboarding for a lesson! Who would have guessed.

I filmed the whole thing on my go pro, so please, go ahead and let me share that one way ticket experience with you..it could be inspiring. CLICK HERE

Leave a comment